Words on Ice: An Evening of Readings

Friday, March 20, 2015, 7:30 p.m. (doors at 7:00 p.m.)

Human and Social Development Building, room A240, University of Victoria

Celebrate The Malahat Review‘s showcase of Canadian authors. The evening promises the best poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and drama from near and far.

A special ‘after party’ will be held at Hillside Coffee & Tea at 10:00 p.m. Mingle with WordsThaw writers and clink glasses in celebration of Canadian literature.

WordsThaw Pass or evening ticket required. Regular evening ticket price (at door): $10,
Student evening ticket price (at door): $5

Evening tickets will only be sold at the door. Click here for full passes.

All attendees at Words on Ice will receive a free copy of the Malahat‘s latest issue.

Yvonne Blomer

Yvonne Blomer’s most recent collection of poems is As if a Raven (Palimpsest Press, 2014). Her first book, DSC_1153a broken mirror, fallen leaf was short listed for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award. Since 2009, Yvonne has been the Artistic Director of Planet Earth Poetry, a weekly reading series in Victoria, B.C. In 2014 she became Victoria’s fourth Poet Laureate. www.yvonneblomer.com.

Eve Joseph

Eve Joseph’s two books of poetry, The Startled Heart (Oolichan, 2004) and The Secret Signature eve-josephof Things (Brick, 2010) were both nominated for the Dorothy Livesay Award. Her nonfiction book, In the Slender Margin was published by HarperCollins in 2014 and named one of the top 100 books of the year by the Globe and Mail, and was recently nominated for the Hubert Evans Nonfiction Prize.

Kevin Kerr

Kevin Kerr is founding member of Vancouver’s Electric Company Theatre where he has been kevin-kerrworking as a playwright, director, actor and producer since 1996. With Electric Company he’s collaborated on the creation of numerous plays including The Wake, The Score, Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands, Flop, The Fall, You Are Very Star, Brilliant! The Blinding Enlightenment of Nikola Tesla, Studies in Motion and Tear the Curtain!

Other works include Skydive and Spine (Realwheels Theatre), The Secret World of Og (Carousel Theatre), the screenplay for The Score (CBC Television/Screen Siren Picture) and Unity (1918) which received the 2002 Governor General’s Literary Award.

He was the Lee Playwright in Residence at the University of Alberta from 2007 – 2010, and in 2012 he joined the faculty at UVIC’s Department of Writing, where he teaches writing for stage and screen. He is currently at work on a new play for the Caravan Farm Theatre.

Fiona Tinwei Lam

Fiona Tinwei Lam’s poetry, nonfiction and fiction have been included in over twenty-four fiona-lamanthologies. She is the author of two books of poetry, Intimate Distances (finalist for the City of Vancouver Book Prize) and Enter the Chrysanthemum as well as the children’s book, The Rainbow Rocket. She is a co-editor of and contributor to the non-fiction anthology, Double Lives: Writing and Motherhood, as well as the editor of The Bright Well, a collection of contemporary Canadian poems about facing cancer. She occasionally writes for The Tyee online news magazine. Her short poetry videos have been screened locally and internationally. www.fionalam.net

Peter Midgley

Peter Midgley is the author of a travel memoir, Counting Teeth: A Namibian Story, as well as of peter-midgelyplays,poetry, and children’s books. His award-winning work has been translated into 28 languages. He is the president of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta. A collection of poetry, Unquiet Bones, will be published by Wolsak & Wynn in fall 2015. He lives in Edmonton.

Arleen Paré

Arleen Paré’s first book, Paper Trail, won the Victoria Butler Book Prize and was a finalist for the arleen-pareB.C. Books’ Dorothy Livesay Prize in Poetry. She has two other books, Leaving Now, a novel, and most recently, Lake of Two Mountains, a collection of linked poetry which won the 2014 Governor General’s prize for poetry, and very recently won the 2015 CBC Bookie Award for poetry. Her fourth book, Face in the Funeral Car, a collection of poetry, is forthcoming from Caitlin Press Fall 2015. Her writing has appeared in several literary journals and anthologies in Canada. She holds an MFA in poetry from the University of Victoria.

Matt Rader

Matt Rader is the author of three books of poetry and the collection of stories, What I Want to Tell rader-colourGoes Like This. His poems and stories have been featured in Geist, The Walrus, The New Quarterly, and The Malahat Review among many other publications in North America, Europe and Australia. The 2014 recipient of the Joseph S. Stauffer Prize for Literature from the Canada Council for the Arts, Rader’s story, “All This Was a Long Time Ago,” was awarded the Jack Hodgins Founders Award by Michael Crummey. His work has also been nominated for the Gerald Lampert Award, the Journey Prize and the Pushcart Prize. He is core-faculty in the Creative Studies Department at the University of British Columbia Okanagan.

D. W. Wilson

D. W. Wilson is a Canadian author born in Cranbrook, British Columbia. He is the author of the dave-wilsonshort story collection, Once You Break A Knuckle published under Penguin Books Ltd in Canada and Bloomsbury in the U.K. Wilson studied creative writing at the University of East Anglia (MA 2010; PhD 2013). His debut full-length novel, Ballistics, was published in spring 2013.




Greater Victoria Public Library

Share Button