2014 Open Season Award Finalists

We are pleased to announce the finalists for our 2014 Open Season Awards! Winners will be announced next week (February 14, 2014).

In Poetry:

Michael Prior, "Epistolary, Lapidary" and "Mary Riter Hamilton Burns the Midnight Oil"
Fred Biggar, "Gravel"
Barbara Schott, "Pelican Child"
Deanna Young, "Beautiful, Astonishing, Wondrous"
Owain Nicholson, "Atlas Also Digs Graves in the Boreal Forest," "Omens," and "The Silent Aspen"
Amanda Merritt, "Sariel"
Stan Rogal, "Head Above Water (Barely)"
Dimitra Xidous, "Holes"
Brent MacLaine, "Not One Thing"
Russell Thornton, "The Man on Death Row Weds"
Josie Di Sciascio-Andrews, "Emerald City"
Glenn Hayes, "First Time Crying" and "Five Star Paradise"
Sue Chenette, "Matters of Personal Importance"
Barbara Pelman, "Interview with Marcello"
Bibiana Tomasic, "Why Rivers Save Children"
Larissa Andrusyshyn, "Elvis in the Madam's House"
Joelle Barron, "A Girl Like This Might Have Loved Glenn Gould"
Alexis Marie Chute, "Five Fold Strength"
Larissa Thompson, "The Hunter's Stew"
Cynthia Woodman Kerkham, "Argument with Captain Vancouver over the Naming of Desolation Sound" and "Crossword"
Cornelia Hoogland, "The Gramophone was Lying on its Side"

In Fiction:

Gail Marlene Schwartz, "Inside, Crying"
Tajja Isen, "The Anxiety of Influence"
Jane Callen, "Red Scare"
Mark Roosma, "Take Me Seriously"
Robert James Hicks, "Separation"
Kevin Hardcastle, "Shape of a sitting man"
Sandra McLean, "The Exact Moment"
Sherry Cassells, "Imperfect Angels"
Erin Soros, "Slash"
Laisha Rosnau, "Prophet River"

In Creative Nonfiction:

Leslie Hill, "Sex Goddess"
Trevor Corkum, "Articles of Faith"
Kelly Cooper, "Ten Easy Steps"
Kirsteen MacLeod, "Faith Healer"
Julia Zarankin, "My Photographs Speak Yiddish"
Nancy Branch, "Winter Thaw"
Rena Graham, "Nymph Skin"

Thank you to all who entered the contest for your support!