Events

Upcoming Events

WordsThaw 2016

The Malahat Review's fourth annual literary symposium takes place March 16-20 at the University of Victoria.

Lectures, readings, panel discussions, one-on-one consultations with local authors, and a master class workshop with Molly Peacock. Where else will you hear Elizabeth May, Jeremy Loveday, Arlene Pare, Christopher Gudgeon, Jordan Abel, Jan Zwicky, Stella Harvey, and others? Let's launch literary through heather and the tulips, whiskered with rain, abuzz with heady conversations. Panels include will discussions on literary archives, the poet as analyst, observor, and investigator, and creative nonfiction: fact, fiction, or scandal?

See the WordsThaw site for a full list of readers and event schedules.

Past Events

WordsThaw 2015

The Malahat Review's third annual literary symposium took place March 20-22 at the University of Victoria.

Lectures, readings, panel discussions, one-on-one consultations with local authors, and a master class workshop with a prominent Canadian author... it all happened here. We shook off the winter’s torrential rains and basked in the glow of timely discussions of subjects of interest, from how-to to how-to-be. Panels included discussions on young adult literature, self-publishing, creative nonfiction, and minority voices.

See the WordsThaw site for the list of readers and event schedules that took place.

I Found It At The Movies - the Victoria premiere!

On September 23, Ruth Roach Pierson and local contributors launched I Found It at the Movies, Pierson's of poems by 116 cinemastes, published in 2014 by Guernica Editions.Victoria-area poets Maleea Acker, John Barton, Marilyn Bowering, Michael Kenyon, Marlene Grand Maitre, Shelley Leedahl, Mitch Parry, and Patricia Young read poems that spliced together diverse and diverting takes on the cinematic experience.

The Malahat Review at CCWWP

The Malahat participated in the 2014 CCWWP (Canadian Creative Writers and Writing Programs) conference, held at UBC from May 16 -17. Joelle Barron, whose poem “A Girl Like This Might Have Loved Glenn Gould” won the poetry category of the 2014 Open Season Awards, represented The Malahat Review at “Literary Magazines and the Future of Canadian Literature.” Issues of the magazine were also on sale at the CCWWP Bookfair.

WordsThaw 2014

From Thursday, February 20 - Saturday, February 22 at the University of Victoria, The Malahat Review held a successful three-day event of writers, readers, panel discussions, lectures, workshops and more. Visit the WordsThaw 2014 website for full details on what events took place, and for photos!

Victoria Writers Festival

On Saturday, October 19, 2013, The Malahat Review sponsored readings and a panel discussion at the Victoria Writers Festival, with Maleea Acker, Ken Howe, Theresa Kishkan, and George Szanto. Hosted by B.C. Green Party Leader Adam Olsen.

Congress @ Planet Earth

On Friday, June 7, 2013, we held a Congress 2013 reading at Moka House on Hillside to close off the Planet Earth Poetry reading series for the season. Ariel Gordon, Cody Klippenstein, Iain Higgins, and Eric Miller read.

Words @ The Edge

On Tuesday, June 4, 2013, we held a Congress 2013 reading hosted by Yvonne Blomer with Lorna Crozier, Patrick Lane, Jeremy Loveday, Arleen Pare, Philip Kevin Paul, and music from UVic music students.

WordsThaw 2013

On Saturday, March 23, 2013 we held our 1st-annual Spring writing symposium! We held three panels during the day: "Zoom In, Zoom Out: Focus on Fiction," "A Sustainable Feast: The New Food Writing," and "In Our Names: Writers on Poverty." In the evening, we held "Words on Ice," readings from eight writers from B. C. and Alberta.

Winter Launch Event: Malahat's issue #181 and Best Canadian Poetry in English

We joined the Planet Earth Poetry reading series on February 1, 2013 to launch our Winter 2012 issue (#181) and the Best Canadian Poetry in English 2012. Readings from Patricia Young, Kayla Czaga, Michelle Brown, Steve Noyes, Catherine Greenwood, Raoul Fernandes, and Carla Funk.

Finding a Map: Writing a Biography of P. K. Page

To mark the third anniversary of P. K. Page's passing, biographer Sandra Djwa spoke about the late and great poet. Organized by The Malahat Review, Djwa's lecture, "Finding a Map: Writing a Biography of P. K. Page," was part of the Faculty of Humanities' Lansdowne Lecture series.

Writing the Arts with John Threlfall

From visual art and theatre to music, opera, film, and more, this entertaining and fast-moving talk by a 30-year arts veteran offered tips on giving good interview, finding untold stories, developing a niche, working with different writing styles, getting creative with your coverage, and writing about art forms outside of your expertise.

Fall 2012 Issue (#180) Launch: East meets West

East met West in Victoria on November 12, 2012! We celebrated The Fiddlehead's Essential West Coast Poetry & Fiction and The Malahat Review's Essential East Coast Writing issues among good food, beer, and friends at The Fernwood Inn.

Summer 2012 Issue (#179) Launch

We had a great time celebrating summer in fall on Monday, September 17th, 2012 at the Fernwood Inn with a student open mic hosted by Benjamin Willems to start, then readings from our Summer and Spring 2012 contributors.

Spring 2012 Issue (#178) and This Side of West Launch

On May 15th, we held a joint launch of this year's issue of This Side of West, the annual undergraduate literary journal of the Writing Students' Union at the University of Victoria and our Spring 2012 issue (#178).

Poet vs. Poet Debate

In celebration of National Poetry Month, The Malahat Review brought together a small crew of recognized spoken word artists and poets to debate whether or not spoken word and written word poetry are distinct genres. The debate's moderator, Yvonne Blomer, said it like this: Are these two art forms really as different as tigers and lemurs? As different as The Malahat Review and YouTube?

Best Foot Forward: How to Enter the Literary Conversation

If you have ever thought about submitting writing to a literary journal for publication, The Malahat Review’s fall 2011 workshop “Best Foot Forward: How to Enter the Literary Conversation” was a thorough primer on how to enter the both tedious and rewarding world of publishing.

To Tell The Truth:The Many Faces (and Controversies) of Creative Nonfiction

At The Malahat Review’s panel discussion, authors David Leach, M. A. C. Farrant, George Sipos, and Christin Geall discussed the challenges and issues faced by writers of creative nonfiction. 

Winter 2011 Issue (#177) and Best Canadian Poetry in English 2011 Launch

On Friday, February 3rd, we took over the Planet Earth Poetry series at Moka House to launch our Winter issue (#177) and The Best Canadian Poetry in English 2011.

Fall 2011 Issue Launch (#176)

On November 9th, 2011 we launched our Fall issue at The Well (821 Fort St.). A crowd of local seasoned writers, writing students, and literature lovers joined us to hear local writers Richard Osler, Rhona McAdam, Julie Paul, Tom Wayman, and Zoey Peterson read.

Summer 2011 Issue Launch (#175)

On Monday September 19th, we celebrated our Summer 2011 issue, #175 with readings from the issue's authors and former poetry board member, Garth Martens.

Spring 2011 Issue Launch (#174)

On Tuesday, May 3rd we celebrated our Spring 2011 issue, #174 with readings from the issue and from a couple of our board members.

Winter 2010 issue (#173) Launch and Tribute to P. K. Page

On Friday, January 28th we celebrated our Winter 2010 issue (#173) and paid tribute to P. K. Page following the anniversary of her death.

Fall 2010 Issue (#172) and Best Canadian Poetry in English Launch

On Sunday, November 14th, we held a joint launch for our Fall issue and The Best Canadian Poetry in English 2010.

Summer Issue 2010 Launch (#171)

We celebrated our Summer issue with readings from Maleea Acker, Jay Ruzesky, Kyeren Regehr, and Bill Stenson (reading from Novella Prize winner Tony Tulathimutte's "Brains").

Malahat Spring 2010 Issue Launch (#170): Lorna Crozier, Patrick Lane, and Aesthetic Kinship

A celebration of our Spring 2010 issue, featuring Lorna Crozier, Patrick Lane, Lorri Neilsen Glenn, and Tricia Dower.

Winter 2009 Issue Launch (#169) and Friends of The Malahat Launch

Featuring readings by Bill Gaston, Eliza Robertson, Allison Blythe, Brett Josef Grubisic, and Anne Marie Turza

Follow on FacebookFollow Us on TwitterFollow Us on Instagram

CONTEST
DEADLINES

Aug 1, 2017

Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize

Nov 1, 2017

Open Season Awards

Feb 1, 2018

Novella Prize

May 1, 2018

Far Horizons
Award for Poetry

SPECIAL
FEATURES

P. K. Page: A Tribute

ADVERTISEMENTS

Subscribe to CV2

Glass Buffalo Contest

UVic Alumni Card